It only matters what works for you.

Spoon theory corollary

Spoon theory comes from a brilliant article explaining that when you have a chronic health condition, you really have to budget your energy, even for tasks that seem effortless to healthy people.

The corollary is, sometimes even healthy people run out of spoons.

I had a very busy summer. Scratch that. It’s been a busy year with a lot of change, but this summer we moved, again. That’s always exhausting. I also started physical therapy to try to sort out the problem with my sore leg. And we adopted another cat, right in the middle of the move. Who wasn’t quite as socialized as we thought.

Recently I’ve been getting on my own case about not getting things done, not being as productive as I think I should be. But as I sat down to write this, I realized that plenty of people would have found my summer exhausting, its not just because I have Issues. Moving is exhausting. Teaching a rescue to be part of a family is exhausting. And physical therapy is exhausting. It’s not me.

So it’s time to let up on not being up to speed the way I think I should be, and put more effort into figuring out what I do feel up to.

Leave a Reply

