It only matters what works for you.

Work-Life balance

This is a skill I don’t yet have. If I’m very lucky someone will have notice I haven’t posted in quite a while.

I’m self employed, and most of my work is on finite projects. I got a really fantastic one this summer. It had a tight deadline, so for most of the summer, I didn’t do anything but work on this contract. It was fun and interesting and challenging. It was also lucrative, so, everything you could possibly ask for in a contract.

Unfortunately, it didn’t leave me a whole lot of time for other things.

I should have managed that better and taken time for other things.

When the project completed, my bank account was in great shape. That’s one side. On the other side, my cats were very stressed, to the point that my cat who used to be a biter was behaving aggressively again. I’d gained some weight, sitting very still working on the computer for 10 weeks. A lot of household things got behind.

It’s not a terrible result, but it’s reminded me that I need to learn to make sure that I am as important to myself as my business is. I’m not very good at that, but I’m pretty smart, so eventually I think I’ll figure it out.

Leave a Reply

