It only matters what works for you.

Will you or won’t you?

Lots of people whinge about getting older. In our beauty/youth based culture it’s not surprising. But I think there are a lot of positives. I’m a lot more settled, patient, and I have a very good sense of who I am and what is important.

With that, I’ve also learned what I will and will not do, and that gives me a solid base for making decisions I can and will live with. Including health decisions.

Kale is extremely nutritious. Lots of trace minerals. I loathe it. Seriously, in all my years of dieting and trying to eat the ‘right’ things, I’ve never found a single way to prepare it that makes it palatable to me. I will not eat it.

Apparently what I *will* do, is run kale, along with a lot of other veggies, through my juicer. This takes about 45 minutes every other morning between running the juicer, and then cleaning the juicer. Then I’ll swig down what I consider a relatively unpleasant drink. And then I’m done with it. It would be nice if I enjoyed it, the way so many people of my acquaintance do. But I don’t. I can live with that. 15 seconds twice a day to chug down the veggies that I other wise wouldn’t get? No question. I will do that. And I have, every day for 5 months now. I think I’m seeing some real benefits, but that’s another blog.

I don’t care to ‘go for a walk’. It may be because as  a child I walked outside a lot. Alone. It was lonely. Or it may be because in college I couldn’t afford a bus pass, so I walked a mile in the Texas heat between my apartment and campus twice every day. That was truly unpleasant. In any case, no matter how excellent a fitness opportunity just walking in my neighborhood would be, as a general rule, I won’t. I can make myself do it for a while. I had surgery once and had to walk every day as part of the healing. And I did that. And then I kept walking for a while. But the minute I had a ‘good reason’ to get out of the habit (I believe it was snow at that time) I quit and never got back to it.

On the other hand, I will change clothes, drive to the gym, work out, drive home, shower and change 3 or 4 days a week on a fairly regular basis. I do occasionally get derailed, take time off, or generally feel like not going, but I usually get back to it fairly quickly.

I don’t really understand the why behind this. Why the gym and not the walk? It’s the same playlist on my MP3 player.

But it doesn’t really matter. What matters is that I have figured out what I will do, and what I won’t do, and I’m making that work for me. I will eat according to my allergies, I won’t sign up for a lifestyle that makes me hungry all the time. I will go to the gym, I won’t go for a walk. I will drink water 95% of the time as long as it doesn’t taste nasty, so I have a water delivery service.

Have you figured out what you will and won’t do yet? Are you still fighting to do what you ‘should’ instead of figuring out what you ‘will’?

Own who you are and build your life around what is realistic. If there’s something you need or want to accomplish, work out how to do that within the context of a life you can really live instead of something imposed from outside. It just works a lot better that way.

Leave a Reply

