It only matters what works for you.

Changing the paradigm

Changing a paradigm is astonishingly difficult.

As a society, we’ve been utterly convinced that your weight is 100% linked to the food that you eat.

This is patently false. Food is only part of the equation, and from the results that we’re getting as a society, I’m not even convinced at this point that it is a pivotal point. Our society is more focused on diet than ever in human history and we get fatter and sicker every year.

So what else should we be looking at? With so very much external programming, its very difficult to make yourself look at anything at all. ‘Everyone knows’ the world is flat, you’d have to be crazy to think otherwise.

How about joy in movement? I don’t mean going to the gym. I mean moving in ways that are fun, and relaxing, and make you happy. Dance in the living room. Walk because it’s beautiful. Maybe roller skating.

How about letting your body tell you what food to eat, instead of imposing rules and restrictions. We can make ourselves very unhappy about food, and I think the unhappiness is the issue. We only allow ourselves to eat this amount of these foods at restricted times. That causes stress.

Stress. That has to be a huge part of the equation. Seriously. not only did Lissa Rankin talk a little about how being in stress mode may deactivate the body’s amazing self repair functions, I’ve since read 2 online articles on it and there was a feature in Wired magazine. There is definitely some serious science coming together on this idea. Being hungry, being deprived, causes stress. Actually, over time, being hungry makes you crazy. There are studies about that too, but I’m not going to go find one right now.

I don’t have all the answers yet. But my devotion this year to doing things differently is at least causing me to look for new questions to ask.

I’ve done it their way. Over and over and over. What I have learned is that their way isn’t good for me, and doesn’t cause lasting change. Lasting change is the only thing that is really going to make the difference.

So that’s what I’m looking for.

Comments on: "Changing the paradigm" (1)

  1. Gospel Restoration said:

    Wow, good for you! This seems very related to what I was just writing about earlier today. I’ve been thinking about the stress factor a lot, too! Best wishes to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

