It only matters what works for you.

My new un-sexy friends.

They’re called compression stockings. They aren’t sexy, but I can’t believe it took me so long to try them out.

A number of years ago I fell through a rotten board in an elevated walk way. Personally, I think I’m very lucky that I was so big at the time because I believe if my leg had been smaller I’d have fallen much further and likely snapped a bone as I fell over. As it was the size of my leg kept me from falling too far. What I did get was a really bad case of cellulitis and a permanent crimp in the vein in my leg.

What this means is, when my legs swell a little from sitting at my desk on a long day, as most everyone’s do, the damaged one doesn’t deflate when I get up and move around or when it is elevated when I sleep at night. It is inclined to stay swollen. And over the years the skin has stretched and it can get very swollen. Both unsightly and uncomfortable.

What to do? Over the years I’ve spent a lot of time working from the recliner on my laptop. It lets me keep my feet up. That’s not a bad solution, but not all of my work (ghostwriting and editing) can be done efficiently from a laptop that’s actually propped on my lap. My typing speed suffers for one thing.

I don’t know why I never thought of compression stockings before. Maybe I did but a cursory look in the local pharmacies never found ones that would fit. Welcome to the world of Amazon.com. Where you can buy just about everything. Including compression stockings in the size I need.

They work brilliantly. They aren’t the most comfortable thing I’ve ever worn. I have a lower level of compression on order to see if they’ll work as well without binding. On the other hand, having my leg horribly swollen wasn’t comfortable either. Emotionally, its very reassuring that now I can do whatever I need to do in the most efficient way without always worrying about leg-elevation time. Or without suffering the consequences.

Note: I wrote this a few weeks ago, before my trip. They made a huge difference while traveling. I have another post about them coming soon.

 

Leave a Reply

