It only matters what works for you.

I just read this article about a young woman who has shared a mostly nude photo with the world. Her picture can be seen in her own blog, with her audacious (and somewhat profane) commentary. I applaud her attitude and her bravery and her desire to work with those younger than her to help build their confidence.

But that isn’t really what I want to talk about here.

What I want to talk about is the ugly vitriol that you see in the comments after the original blog. The sheer number of people who spout that everyone could be thin if they would just eat properly. And exercise enough, which according to some is an hour every day. That there are millions of their tax dollars being spent because people don’t have any self control.

I don’t know whether to be furious or despondent.

Is it my fault that I was 43 before I could get the right medical test to show me that I have a thyroid condition? (Which got worse with each and every low calorie diet I suffered through?)

That our medical system isn’t set up to even find food sensitivities?

That because things were never treated I destroyed my adrenals?

Yet the media and the main stream medical position continues to tell us that diet and exercise is the One True Solution and that there is no possible other excuse or reason for being a disgusting fat slob who is going to take up half their seat the next time they fly.

I’ll tell you this. I have more will power than any of those self righteous bigots who post that ugliness. How many of them have spent endless months hungry to absolutely NO EFFECT? How many of them have spent their free time for years tracking down alternate possibilities? How many of them have to swim against public opinion EVERY DAY but manage to stay sane and have some kind of functioning self worth?

How can we fight the programming distributed by our own medical industry? Who is pulling their strings that they won’t even review their own data and see how wrong and completely damaging their advice and methodology is?

Leave a Reply

