It only matters what works for you.

Me and my leaf chipper…

Or, about green drinks.

A few weeks ago I went to a conference and heard Kris Carr speak. She’s a cancer survivor and is passionate about being healthy. I don’t subscribe to everything she champions, but you don’t have to to find things to embrace. She made a brilliant point: “The body changes every day, the choices have to change with it.” I absolutely believe that. If something isn’t working, change it, even if it used to work.

She talked a lot about green drinks, hence the title. It just so happens that despite my great life upheaval in 2011 and purging my belongings twice, I own a juicer (or as I refer to it around here, my leaf chipper). It was still in the box, unopened, yet it moved with me. Twice. Most unlikely. So when Kris talked about green drinks as a great way to make one healthier change, I gave it some serious though. It is alkalinizing. It is a way to get the benefit of many of those veggies without having to actually eat all of them. It didn’t feel like too big a change for me to make.

So I tried it. I promised myself a week. A month later I’m still doing it. The juicer now lives on the counter permanently. I juice every other day and keep the other half in a glass jar in the fridge until the next day. Yes, of course fresh juice every day would be best. Or twice a day. I’m not ready to invest that kind of time yet. Maybe later. Maybe not. A day old fresh juice is a heck of a lot better than no fresh juice, which is what you always get when you push a new change too far too fast.

I don’t like them. I won’t pretend that I do. I don’t think they taste good. But my body LOVES them. I wake up every morning and think “let’s go down and have our green drink” before I even get all the way out of bed. Sometimes in the afternoon I’ll drink the other half in the fridge and wind up juicing again the next morning. I may be about to do that again today. I’m not perfectly sure what effect they are having on my health. It hasn’t been that long and health benefits are often slow. I do know that I am able to give myself a lot more slack in how I handle other things knowing that my veggie needs are getting met more often than not. And with the permission to cut myself more slack has actually come the ability to be more consistent in making better choices.

I can’t wait to see how this plays out.

I know you’re going to ask, so what do I put in the drinks? I use cucumbers for the base, I add some random mix of kale, dandelion greens, bok choy, and lime. I think the lime tastes better than lemon. I also add the stemmy pieces from bunches of lettuce so they aren’t wasted. I don’t put other fruit in. I don’t eat a lot of fruit because of the sugars so I’d rather enjoy the flavor by itself rather than trying to dress up my greens. Yes, I’m treating the green drink as a medicinal. Whatever it takes to make it work is my philosophy.

I feel good about the change. It’s working for me. And I never have to try to figure out a way to make kale palatable for me. Because that was really going nowhere.

Leave a Reply

