It only matters what works for you.

Sick of Stress

Or is that sick from stress?

Both for me.

I recently had one of those ‘life lessons’ periods where I let myself get so upset about a perceived problem that I physically and emotionally ran myself into the ground.

Of course, at the end of the experience everything turned out fine and I realized that all that stress and freaking out was completely unnecessary, which just made the whole situation worse as far as I was concerned.

Then, just to make the whole learning experience really complete for me, I got sick. Completely sick, snotty and disgusting and everything, for the first time in several years. I’ve been under the weather a few times, had some episodes of not-quite-up-to-snuff, but I haven’t been ‘please kill me now’ sick in a long time.

My beloved brought something really special home from Miami I guess. Thanks Honey.

I’m sharing this not just to let my readers know that I did not fall off the face of the earth nor, despite my wishes at the time, did I die a horrible death, but because it was an important lesson for me. One I seem to need to keep repeating, so I hope that enumerating it will help it sink in better.

The body and mind are strongly connected and if your mind is all twisted up, your body is doomed.

The only thing that was really different this time compared to all the other times in the last few years that my beloved has gotten sick when I didn’t was that I had tied my mind and emotions up in complete knots dealing with something that turned out to not really be a problem.

Stress uses up cortisol. The news makes cortisol out to be a bad guy this week, but it really isn’t. Cortisol does a lot of very important jobs that help you deal with stress and keep your body in balance, and oh, support the immune system.

I used to be sick all the time. Several infections a year requiring antibiotics, I’d catch every single head cold that went by, and I’d spend months at a time silenced by laryngitis. A lot of that was fixed by correcting physical stress issues like food allergies. But in balance, fixing those food allergies also cleared up a lot of things in my head and lead to a generally more positive outlook, and I think that is just as important.

So if you find yourself constantly catching every passing cold and flu that comes by, check your stress levels, both physical and mental. If you can find those weak spots and shore them up, your life will be a lot more comfortable.

And you’ll save money on tissues. Just as a side benefit.

 

Leave a Reply

