It only matters what works for you.

Too hot?

One of the classic signs of a thyroid problem is to be cold all the time.

What is much less known is that the ability to properly regulate your temperature in either direction is actually the sign. Not just cold.

My whole life I have always been hot. I like cold weather. I like the a/c down to levels that are seriously damaging to my electric bill.

Worse than that, the heat used to leave me utterly limp. Just walking outside into a hot day could take me from energetic and full of plans to completely unable to function in just a few minutes. I could barely move and I definitely couldn’t think.

I assumed back then that it was just my weight. Too much insulation. It did get just a little bit better when I lost that first 100 lbs, but it didn’t fix the problem by any stretch.

Because it was always a thyroid problem.

Would you believe that my ENTIRE adult life, for as long as I’ve been old enough to pay attention in fact, my normal, healthy body temperature was 97?

And the doctors told me that was fine.

Let’s think about this for just a second. 98.6-97 is 1.6. If, instead of low my temperature was high at 100.2, it would have clearly put me in the ‘sick’ column. But too low wasn’t a cause for concern? Why the heck not?

I’m not sure why the current medical doctrine is to under treat thyroid issues. I do know that the obesity epidemic, the horrific numbers of women with depression requiring medication, and high cholesterol are all signs of low thyroid. Yet a middle aged woman can demonstrate all of these issues together and on the basis of one test that doesn’t actually test functional hormone levels of anything but the pituitary, can be left to suffer and be told that she’s just depressed because she is fat and if she ate properly her cholesterol wouldn’t be a problem.

It might sound a little like I take the situation personally.

That would be a good guess. I had all those signs and symptoms plus a laundry list of others and for pretty nearly 20 years all I ever got was that same pointless TSH test which has become the gold standard and yet is pretty darn useless for a great many sufferers.

So I encourage you to take your temperature. If it is consistently lower than 98.6, take your basal body temperature. Get some data. Make a list.

Then  raise a ruckus.

I was 42 before my T3 levels were treated. I had to go outside the regular medical system and pay out of pocket for the tests I really needed.

It was worth it.

Leave a Reply

