It only matters what works for you.

Is there anything more frightening than waking in the middle of the night to hear your child wheezing and choking and unable to breathe?

Yes.

It’s being that child wheezing and choking and unable to breathe.

I’ve been asthmatic all my life. I experienced every horrific frightening minute to the fullest. When I was a child, albuterol hadn’t been invented yet. No Advair. No Singulair. Theophylline was the latest greatest thing, after about a week of building up in the system. They don’t even use that one any more.

No in home nebulizers. It was a trip to the emergency room every time.

So please, please carefully consider what I’m going to suggest next.

Put your child on a 2 week dairy free trial.

2 weeks is not enough time for your child to become seriously deficient in those supposedly all important nutrients in milk. It is enough time to see if your child has a casein allergy that is triggering the asthma and allergies.

I posted a blog about how I went dairy free. What I didn’t discuss was how much I wish I’d known years ago. If I hadn’t been sick then, how many social activities wouldn’t I have missed? Would I be as fat as I am now if I could have participated more in sports? If I could have run? Played harder without always worrying about breathing? Would I have missed less school? Gotten better grades?

If you think I’m playing on your worries and fears as a parent, you’re right. I am. Because I was there and my story could be your child’s story. Its not a bad story, but could it have been better? We’ll never know. But maybe your child can. Every parent wants the very best of everything for their child. Try this.

Yes, working around a food sensitivity can be complicated. The good news is, its never been easier. There are milk alternatives. Almond milk, rice milk, coconut milk, all right in the dairy case. (I think soy is evil, that’s a post for another day.) Coconut based yogurt. Coconut and rice based ice creams. Even dairy free cheese. Ingredients listed on each and every product at the grocery store.

If you have an asthmatic child, please, consider what I’m saying. Spend some time Googling other people’s stories. Figure out how you could implement it. It can’t hurt to try it and just think how wonderful it would be to NOT wake up some night frantic.

Your kid is worth it.

Leave a Reply

