It only matters what works for you.

A few days ago I experimented with a packaged food.

I usually avoid packaged food. They put a lot of weird stuff in them that is often harmful or poisonous to me. But since I’m doing hcg right now and not eating those things anyway, I thought I’d get something that looked like my ever patient husband would enjoy and try it out.

I should have known better.

The box was marked as gluten free. I read the ingredients and I thought it looked fine. I missed something. Yeast extract can be made from beer processing and isn’t always gluten free. Or, it might have been that yeast extract is closely related to MSG. Either way, I should have known that, but live and learn. I only tasted a few grains to check for doneness and then a partial spoonful afterwards to actually check the taste. That shouldn’t have much of an effect, right?

WRONG.

If I ate a whole teaspoon full of rice, I’ll be shocked. I really was going for just a taste. That has no apparent bearing on how sick it made me.

My entire day yesterday was a wash, focusing on a nap, a heating pad for my gut, and my usual pain reliever and marshmallow root, which is my preferred palliative for a gluten poisoning. I also got a reminder of the horrible pain in my shoulder that used to be part of my daily life until I went gluten free and it suddenly went completely away. Phantom pains are actually a quite common side effect of gluten sensitivity, did you know?

But seriously. 1tsp of rice, coated with a seasoning mix on which yeast extract was the last ingredient. It just isn’t reasonable that it could have that kind of effect.

Except that it did. On hcg I’ve eaten nothing but an endless round of 8 foods for the last 3 weeks*. Reasonable or not, there is no other possibility.

We get really caught up, as people and as a culture, in what we can track and what we can measure and discounting anything that we don’t currently know how to quantify. I think it would be good if we all learned to spend a little bit more time reviewing what is, and figure out the how and why after that.

*HCG doesn’t have to be quite that monotonous, if you don’t have a ton of food allergies. Its just easier for me that way.

Leave a Reply

