It only matters what works for you.

On each round of HCG I’ve done, I’ve been hungry.

I could control it, and it wasn’t nearly what you’d expect from the extremes of the program so I just worked through it, assuming that it was normal.

Then I talked to some people, and read a lot more, and realized that really, hungry at all isn’t supposed to happen.

I contacted my doctor, but that can take a while, so I got online, because that’s what I do when I want to find out something, and did a lot more reading.

The thing about hcg is, like any other drug or supplement, they have a dose that works for most people, so that’s what they usually prescribe.

That should have been my first clue. If its what works for ‘most people’ you can be dead certain I’m not going to be one of them. Fortunately my reading showed I was far from the only person to have this problem, so I read the solutions.

The problem is, too high a dose and too low a dose can have the same effect, which is hunger and less than optimal weight loss. There isn’t really any way to decide which is going to be which, but from my reading, I think I might have seen a small bias towards people needing less, more often that more.

I already tend to be sensitive to hormone supplementation. My T3 dose, which keeps my body temperature right where it needs to be, is much lower than most people who use the same supplement, even if they have similar preliminary blood tests. Its all about figuring out what you, personally, need. Since I know I have a tendency towards being more sensitive, and because I thought I remembered the last few days of dieting, when you’re getting off the hcg anyway, to have been relatively easy, I decided to  try down instead of up. I actually skipped a day completely, and did really well that day, then went with a drastically lower dose, which is what I’d read about.

Yes! Soooo much better.

The day after that I heard back from my doctor and he recommended that I take my dose up.

The moral of this story is, as always, listen to your own body, your own experiences, and don’t be afraid to try judicious adjustments based on your own intuition.

Leave a Reply

