It only matters what works for you.

Hindsight

I just got back from a visit to my former home of Colorado Springs, CO. You may or may not know that most of Colorado Springs is at 6000+ ft in elevation.

I lived at what is considered ‘high altitude’ (over 5000 ft) for about 14 years. I liked the dry climate and the low air pressure. Or I thought I did. Many residents find that if they visit sea level for any length of time the first day or so they feel a little winded when they get back. (Lungs are just really easy, they’ll take any oxygen on offer no questions asked.)

I was pretty winded during my trip, but I expected that. What I didn’t expect was that I would sleep poorly and need to dramatically increase my cortisol supplements to stay on an even keel.

Which leads me to wonder if my body ever liked living at altitude at all? I can track my food allergies and some of my adrenal problems back to childhood, but how did the extra stress of altitude effect their presentation over the long run?

I’ll never know the real answers unless I someday move back and track things with some hard numbers, but isn’t it an interesting question?

I love an interesting question.

Leave a Reply

