It only matters what works for you.

Fighting Dogma

I’m currently following very strict low carb guidelines as a part of my HCG program.

I followed a strict low carb program from 2005 until 2010 as well. Even when it stopped working for me.

It is so easy to buy into a way of doing things and then become trapped in the idea that you are following the One True Way. It happens all the time from diets to schooling to politics to almost any kind of thought pattern that involves a lot of people. You work a program, you associate with people who also work the program, and you believe the program.

So what happens when the program is no longer achieving the results you wanted? We often get the advice that its something we are or are not doing that has caused the change. You aren’t being strict enough. You don’t want it enough. You just need to stick with it.

On the one hand, that’s decent advice for someone who hasn’t been on the program long. Someone who hasn’t followed the rules very well. On the other hand, when it happens to someone who is a long time devotee, I think that’s a pretty stupid reaction. And I was definitely pretty stupid to accept it and keep trying harder and longer.

What really happened is  that, like many middle aged women, my body does not do well with the very low carb diet I followed for years. The harder I tried, the more damage I did. My adrenals were fatigued to begin with (untreated of course) and the longer and harder I worked, the worse everything got.

My question is, why are we always so inclined to believe that we are at fault? That we aren’t trying hard enough, doing enough, believing enough. Why are we so mean to ourselves and always inclined to believe we’re slackers first, and fight back later, if ever? How did we get conditioned to behave this way.

I’d love some discussion on that, I’m not sure I have any brilliant insight on that problem. I just know its really pervasive.

As for my current low carb phase, this is my first true round of HCG so I feel that following the rules as well as I can is probably in my best interest. That said, I’m not entirely sure how much longer I’ll be able to do this, so I may begin to experiment sooner than later.

Comments on: "Fighting Dogma" (2)

  1. If you are stupid then I am stupider because I have done lowcarb since 1998 up to about 2 months ago and I am fatter than ever. I did great at first and lost a bit over 100 lbs. got down to my lowest at 305 lbs. and just couldn’t lose any more. I have spent the last decade+ falling off the lowcarb wagon regaing, restarting, falling off over and over.

    The tweaking! The freaking supplements! The disapointment and anger with myself!

    Then came the worst, depression. OMG!!! Looking back I think general lowcarb cause mild depression maybe after a year (right around when I stalled) . My depression got REALLY bad because I starting doing VLC durring the last 4 years.

    I finally made the break from lowcarb and started first on PHD but lately have moved to more of a Ray Peat woe. I am sorta stumbling though it but the weight is comming off and most importantly I feel so damn much better. I think I did a good bit of damage to myself eating VLC and if my current made-up bastardized woe starts to give me problems I will not hesitate to find alternatives,

    Sorry for spewing so much I just want you to know there are better ways for some of us. The danngers of carbs was deeply implanted in me but it came down to embrace the carbs or let the depression take me out.

    Life is good after lowcarb, take a chance.

    MissusF

    p.s nice blog

    • Welcome MissusF! Spew away, I always find it a relief to share frustration with people who get it, I hope you do to. There is life after low carb, or any strict way of life really. The hard part is to let go of one belief and allow yourself to try something new. I’m so glad that you’ve found something that is working for you! I hear great things about Peat.
      I’m glad you like the blog. It’s become really important to me to know that others are striking out on their own to find what works for them, and to offer a place where people who are thinking about moving on can know that there are others who do the same.

Leave a Reply

