It only matters what works for you.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m currently doing a round of the hcg diet. Its working extremely well, almost like instant gratification as far as dieting goes.

If you don’t know, hcg is a hormone that pregnant women secret that, among other things, releases a mother’s fat stores to nourish the baby. It can be used in non-pregnant people to do that same thing. It’s an ‘off label’ use, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t work well. Not that many doctors will prescribe it, I’m fortunate that my doctor in my former home was a firm believer. I think because as a doctor of integrative medicine, meaning a western MD plus all manner of alternative solutions integrated together, he specializes in patients who aren’t successful with more traditional modalities. There is a thriving business in oral homeopathic drops. I’ve read good things about them but have no personal experience, so no personal opinion.

You take your drops or injections and you follow a 500 calorie diet from a very specific list of foods. Wouldn’t you lose on a 500 calorie diet anyway? Of course you would. If you could stay on it longer than 5 minutes without eating your own arm or the family pet. The weight you’d lose would be a combination of fat and muscle. With the hcg you’re supposed to only lose fat. Reports from people with access to body composition monitors seem to support this.

I’ve been following this for 3 weeks now. Today was my last injection. I’ve lost 25 lbs. In 3 weeks, that’s what I said. Some of that will be water of course, but my clothing assures me that there’s plenty of honest to goodness weight gone.

I’m always asked about the 500 calories. “Aren’t you starving? How can you do that?” I won’t say its easy, but its much easier than many of the diets I’ve been on before at much higher calories. Most of the time I feel that I’d like a little something. When I’m really and truly hungry, its generally time for a meal. It hasn’t been bad at all.

The protocol is set for either 3 weeks or 6. Many people with significant amounts to lose will opt for 6 but I knew that I wouldn’t be able to stick to such limited choices for such a long time. I’m heartily sick of the options available to me, which are more limited than normal because of my food allergies. I also think that at my weight the diet is quite physically stressful and I think I’ll be better for a short round.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that we can manage almost anything for 3 weeks.

72 hours after your last dose you move into the next phase which is supposed to reset your hypothalmus and give you a new stable body weight set point. For the next 3 weeks I should eat low carb, specifically no sugar and no starch although lower sugar fruits are allowed which traditional low carb doesn’t encourage. I’m to remain with 2 lbs of the weight I was this morning. That means what I will continue to lose over the next 3 days becomes a cushion for when I start to eat more and put on weight just from water and having food volume digesting. It seems reasonable from this side of things. I’ll report back when I get to the other side.

After those 3 weeks you’re supposedly able to eat as you like, or as a sensible normal human anyway, without gaining back. Again, we’ll see how that goes. You’re supposed to take a break before you do another round of hcg, if you intend to.

I intend to do 2 more rounds of 3 weeks each over the course of the summer. I’ll keep you posted.

If you’re interested in learning more about this protocol, please read Pounds and Inches by Dr. Simeons. Its available here for download or as a .pdf many places on the web.

Comments on: "HCG review, the first part." (1)

  1. The jury is still out for me on this whole hcg thing.

    Thats why I always enjoy reading others experiences trying it.

    Thanks for sharing yours!

Leave a Reply

