It only matters what works for you.

Emergency duct tape.

Having said straight out that I’m not going to focus on losing weight and that I don’t think dieting is the solution, I’d just like to be forthright and announce my hypocrisy.

Yes, I’m on a diet.

About a week ago I developed severe edema in my legs that isn’t going away using any of my normal methods. This is a problem that I used to have before my last major weight loss. I’m not sure what caused it, but I am quite certain that it is a warning sign  that I gained a lot more weight over my move and recovery than I thought. It was very much a slap in the face and requires a drastic solution to fix unless I want to go back to the doctor and get on lasix and other drugs, which I absolutely don’t.

My diet of choice is HCG. I did one round of this based on medical advice from my wonderful integrative physician in Colorado before I moved. It didn’t go very well because my adrenals were still in horrible shape. I originally planned to do 6 weeks but only did 3 since it wasn’t going well, and then we moved again so I threw the follow up portions out the window. I did find that I wasn’t particularly hungry as I am on other strict diets and it works well for me as there are very few choices. I modify it just a bit because I’m allergic to the recommended fruits so instead of apples and strawberries I use oranges and blueberries and rice crackers instead of the breadsticks. I’m hoping it will go well.

I have an online friend who, like me, has been on every known diet over the years and has been unsuccessful in making the kind of progress that her efforts should show. HCG is the first time in a long time that she’s seeing results for her effort. That encourages me.

The advantage of this is that it is very strict for a short period of time, moderately strict for another short period of time, and then it is recommended that you take a break for a few weeks. Really, you can do anything for 3 weeks at a time. If nothing else, it should help me get back into sensible habits. At best it is something I can do in rounds.

I’m still much more interested in what is wrong with my body.  I’m still not interested in watching every mouthful of food I eat for the rest of my life. I still think everything that I’ve already posted here.

But sometimes a leak requires duct tape while you figure out how to truly fix the problem, so I guess that’s where I am this week. Short term emergency fix.

Comments on: "Emergency duct tape." (5)

  1. I think this diet merits some praise. There are some interesting things that happen when there is caloric restriction. For myself, I am always amazed by just how little food the body can manage with. My problem is that I can easily forget that fact. :>)

    • The body can survive all manner of caloric restriction, but severe restriction can have serious consequences. Psychologically studies show that constant starvation, which calorie restriction is (especially when its severe like the 500 cals of the HCG first phase) makes people crazy. Obsessive, depressed. It can also have negative effects on your thyroid and cause a big problem with reverse T3, which I have from my long history of dieting. I don’t think its a great idea for those who can lose normally but since experience proves I can’t, and I’m already suffering from the physical consequences its not a bad option. The HCG keeps me from being hungry and that makes all the difference.

      • But Pamela, you’re not living on 500 calories with the hCG, isn’t that the whole point? You are being nourished by 1500 – 2000 calories of fat the hCG is releasing from your abnormal fat stores. Thus, the no hunger. I agree with all you’ve said about the dangers of starvation dieting, but I think that’s the most important distinction to remember about hCG diet.

      • Good point MizKitty, but I’m not sure it matters. The HCG is releasing fat just the way the body is supposed to in a calorie deficit situation so that my energy needs are being amply met. On the other hand, I am often somewhat hungry, just not the insane hunger it would be if I weren’t be supplemented with fat stores. There is still the psychological effect of not eating in social situations. But it is not physiologically dangerous, that’s definitely true. I apologize for taking so long to reply, but you gave me a very good think while I considered my answer!

  2. Meant to say the hcg diet. Sory for being so vague!

Leave a Reply

