It only matters what works for you.

Following instructions

Following instructions isn’t always going to get you the results you want.

I was baking the other day and I used my Cooks Illustrated cookbook. Cooks Illustrated takes a ton of recipes for one thing and experiments with times and ingredients and methods until they come up with something amazing that is relatively easy and very consistent.

I, of course, can never just follow the instructions on anything, if for no other reason than I’m substituting a gluten free flour blend for basic all purpose.

The first recipe I tried was the one for blueberry cobbler. It was wonderful. Soft tender biscuit top, the perfect amount of berries. One brief note to self to add another tsp of the arrowroot I substituted for cornstarch, and I know I’ll be making that regularly.

The 2nd recipe I tried was for blondies. Which I haven’t actually made before. And these were a relative failure. All I substituted was the flour but these came out dry, bland, and almost too crumbly to eat.

A good analogy for life I think. You don’t know how something is going to work out for you until you actually give the thing a try in your own life or environment. All you can do is jump in and try it. It can be a scary thing if the investment is greater than single dessert, say, a new job, but there still isn’t anything you can do but mix and bake and see how it turns out.

If it doesn’t work out, then you need to look at things and see if you can fix the recipe or if you’ll need to pick a whole new dessert.

Leave a Reply

