It only matters what works for you.

I’m not sure I know. The medical profession usually talks about blood values and blood pressure and your BMI.

Those things don’t make you healthy. Really. When my grandmother was dying from cancer, her cholesterol, her triglycerides, her BMI, those were all great.

My goal this year is to improve my health. I want to eat food that gives me pleasure that I’m not allergic to. I want to have clear skin. I want to be relaxed. I want to feel strong. I want to feel mentally balanced, which for me requires the proper nutritional supplements.

My goal this year is not going to include losing weight. I hope I will. I hope all the other things I’m going to focus on will cause that as a side effect.

Have you ever heard of the National Weight Control Registry? Its an amazing database of people who have lost a chunk of weight and kept it off for longer than a year. They have a lot of very interesting, and I think horrifying, information.

You see, losing weight is relatively easy. There are a million plans and programs and and most of them work pretty well. For a while. Or even for as long as you follow it. That’s the trick.

When you stop following the plan, it stops working.

I know, rocket science, right?

What the NWCR has determined about people who keep weight off long term is that they pretty much devote the rest of their lives to keeping it off. They offer this:

There is variety in how NWCR members keep the weight off. Most report continuing to maintain a low calorie, low fat diet and doing high levels of activity.

    • 78% eat breakfast every day.
    • 75% weigh themselves at least once a week.
    • 62% watch less than 10 hours of TV per week.
    • 90% exercise, on average, about 1 hour per day.

I’ve lost weight many times. A lot of weight even. What I lack is the ability, or honestly even the desire, to focus the entire rest of my life around keeping it off. so I don’t. I can either let that discourage and depress me, or I can figure out how to focus my life on something else.

Off to pursue some health of my own defining.

Leave a Reply

