It only matters what works for you.

It was my paradigm shifting. Or possibly my brain unhinging, I can’t be certain.

Like many American women, I’ve spent most of my life on some diet or other. Unlike many, I’m big enough that no one has ever told me I don’t need to be. Until I told myself that, recently.

You see, I had an epiphany. You know, bright lights, choirs of angels singing, big neon arrows flashing and pointing saying look here!!

It went something like this:

Oprah Winfrey is an amazing lady. She’s built a gazillion dollar empire out of grit and determination and personality. She now has more money than God. She probably knows everyone she ever wanted to know. Millions of people love her. She has a strong personal support system. She has the time to attend to those things that are important to her. She has access to the best medical care in the world (and the aforementioned money to afford it). She has a personal chef. She has a personal trainer.

What she doesn’t have is a small behind or flat stomach. She has not achieved that elusive ‘thin’ for more than a few minutes at a time.

Why do you suppose that is? Do we think she’s a lazy failure? That’s what popular culture tells us about people who can’t stay thin. They don’t work hard enough, they don’t care enough, that aren’t REALLY trying.

Bzzt! Wrong!  Thank you for playing.

Women who command her popularity, fortune, and personal power are not failures. Or lazy either.

If she can’t do it, with every possible advantage, why on earth am I killing myself in pursuit of a pipe dream just because someone said I ought to?

Isn’t that one of the definitions of insanity? To do the same thing over and over and expect different results?

Comments on: "Did you hear that snapping sound?" (1)

  1. AMEN Sistah!!! You are one classy lady! Women should stop stressing over this bovine scat and just enjoy. Life is way too short to chase meaningless pipe dreams!

Leave a Reply

